Another new to edrums question

Discussion in 'Electronic Drum Zone' started by MBB, Oct 27, 2018.

1. MBB

MBB Very well Known Member

At some point I would like to purchase a good e-kit to use for practicing at home. My main priority is something that has the feel of acoustic heads; well as close as can be expected. I'll try stuff out at GC or wherever to start but suspect I will end up looking for a used system. Could be a great way to play with the same intensity as with an acoustic kit but without the noise to bug my wife, dogs, neighbors, etc. Seems like the most popular and well regarded brands are Roland, Alesis, and Yamaha. I figure some mid range kit would work well. Any advice or thoughts would help. I have zero experience with electronic drums, even after drumming since 1966. I will probably be able to retire next year (at 65!) and will have time to work on getting better and having FUN. Never too late to improve and work on songs that my band wants to play.

2. latzanimal

latzanimal Very well Known Member

Halfway between the Quads and the Windy City...
    The pudding is in the module... Elec. drums can be easily built...

The deciding factor will be what tolerances you have. Mid range modules will not be as "acoustically" accurate as higher end modules....

3. Stickclick

Stickclick Well-Known Member

I don't think you can rest comfortably until you own an electronic drum kit. So buy something used, maybe about USA $ 300, maybe a Yamaha DTX-something. You'll likely need an amplifier too. It is not the same as an acoustic kit. Ekits are quieter than acoustic drums, you can gig with them, they have a built in metronome, lots of different kit sounds, no tuning problems and sound nice in headphones. But I have both electronic and acoustic drum kits and I play the acoustic set almost exclusively.

4. gbow

gbow Well-Known Member