Ideal Paiste Masters Swish Weight?

Discussion in 'Cymbal Talk' started by CSR, Feb 12, 2019.

1. CSR

CSR Member since May 2000

So I have a new Paiste Masters Swish 20” that was pretty expensive. After reading all the reviews, seeing the videos of this model online, and hearing from DFO members about how sweet this cymbal would be, I pulled the trigger.

It weighs in at 1960 grams, which seems 8 to 4O grams heavier than most of the ones I see online for sale.

To me, so far, in my practice room, it sounds a little harsh and a bit clangy to me. I took it on one big band gig, and it seemed merely ok.

Is this too heavy for a Masters Swish to get that “best I’ve ever heard” vibe, like Peter Erskine talks about? Could it be my aging ears, although hearing aids are doing their job?

Any comments or suggestions? They would be greatly appreciated. At this point, I’m feeling disappointed.

2. rculberson

rculberson Very well Known Member

I don’t think 8-40 extra grams on a cymbal that size would be noticeable sonically. 200-400 grams difference, yeah.

zenstat likes this.
  3. Stuffed Chimp

Stuffed Chimp Member

I agree with the above - I doubt 40g on a 20" cymbal would be noticeable.

I'm sorry the swish isn't as beautiful as you hoped. I think we've all been there when chasing a sound: spending the cash following exhaustive research, only to find its not 'quite' right. Its a pretty disappointing/disheartening experience, particularly when we find ourselves considerably out of pocket.

If it helps at all I often find that the cymbals I purchase on a punt because they look interesting or are selling at an easy enough price point are sometimes exactly the sound I want, even if its not the sound I was particularly searching for, once I get my sticks on it.

4. beatsmith8

beatsmith8 Well-Known Member

I had the 22 and I now regret selling it. Amazing.

5. zenstat

zenstat Senior Cymbal Nerd

Yes to this based on my research work.