Mystery MIJ Snare

Discussion in 'Vintage Venue' started by lanebune, Jan 28, 2019.

1. lanebune

lanebune Very well Known Member

Yes I know it's a stencil, but I've never seen one like this. (Not that I'm an expert in MIJ drums)

I'm just wondering if anyone has seen one like this and may know what year it would be from approximately. I can't find GHI anywhere on line. you do see "Worlds Supreme Quility" on lots of stencil kits.

This one has a very heavy duty throw off/strainer that I've never seen on a MIJ drum, but it is definitely original to the drum. The long rods with the flat ends are new to me too.

Attached Files:

• 023.JPG
      023.JPG
      File size:
      67.4 KB
      Views:
    • 022.JPG
      022.JPG
      File size:
      46.5 KB
      Views:
    • 019.JPG
      019.JPG
      File size:
      49 KB
      Views:
    rock roll likes this.
  2. steambent

steambent DFO Master

I don’t think it is but the throw is a little Rogery looking.

parkermike likes this.
  3. rock roll

rock roll Well-Known Member

i have what must be a stencil kit but an early one. it has the same throw.but what look like leedy lugs.but not exactly.
    i will take pics and upload when i can.

lanebune likes this.
  4. idrum4fun

idrum4fun DFO Veteran

To my knowledge, all the badges with "World's Supreme Quality" were made by Star (Hoshino). That throw-off is a copy of the "Universal" throw-off used by Rogers in the 50's and part of the 60's. The lugs on your drum are the "Midget" center lug, and installed on drums for a lower price point. I've got a few MIJ snare drums with this strainer and "World's Supreme Quality" badges. As to "GHI", it was most likely an abbreviation of the name of the importers business or personal name!

-Mark

Attached Files:

Last edited: Feb 25, 2019
    rock roll and lanebune like this.
  5. drumtimejohn

drumtimejohn Very well Known Member

Hoshino Gakki but not to be confused with the “Hoshino” brand of drums. Does that sound right?