Positional Sensing?

Discussion in 'Electronic Drum Zone' started by Cableaddict, Aug 23, 2017.

1. Cableaddict

Cableaddict Member

I have been using a partially-electronic kit in my studio since 2003. I am extremely confused about the concept (and technical implementation) of "positional sensing." I hope someone can clear up the fog:

I have a set of HART pads purchased in 2003. I just use 2 kicks, 4 toms, and an auxillary snare. All have Harts TE3 technology (has to do mostly with the backplate, for even response) - But they don't have the TE3.2 technology. I used to think the TE2 denoted dual triggers, and hence positional sensing, but I recently read that no, the 2 denotes a change in how the sensor was mounted. (Using a base inside the drum, and a short piece of foam underneath.)

According to my notes, Peter Hart once confirmed to me that my toms do support Full positional sensing, but they only have one trigger. HART is out of business so I cant ask Peter a followup question. I've read different views online about this. Some say you need 2 sensors, while others claim you only need a single sensor, in the center of the head, in conjunction with a compatible module.

Since my DDrum2 brain did not react to such pads, (I dont THINK) I never worried about it.

Im now considering upgrading my brain, and so I want to have positional sensing, if possible. Perhaps I have it & dont know how to use it, or perhaps I can modify my pads? SO:

1: How does positional sensing actually work? That is, how are the pads designed, and how does a module interpret that signal? Can you really use just one sensor, with a mono cable?

2: What about the snare? It DOES have two sensors, but one is for the rim.

3: If I do NOT have positional sensing, does anyone know of a way to convert my pads, instead of selling / replacing them? I really like how they look & feel.