Slingerland Satin Flame Pearl cleaning?

Discussion in 'Resto and Rehab tips' started by Radio King, Sep 21, 2016.

1. Radio King

Radio King DFO Veteran

I'm doing a refurb for a local friend of a blue satin flame solid-shell Artist from a matching '64 kit. Chrome is easily restorable, Zoomatic in good condition with knob affixed, original extended snare wires with metal strap, etc. However, I have no experience cleaning a satin flame finish, and I don't want to inadvertently scratch it any more than it already is. There are already a few minor cracks - nothing alarming, and of course I realize that I'll never get the "blue" back (it's faded to a lavender), but I'd love to get some of the luster back. Is it possible, and what product(s) would you recommend?

Attached Files:

2. viragobike4

viragobike4 Very well Known Member

Scrubbing Bubbles with a soft (I mean soft) brush. Brush in direction of the flame pattern followed by Novus #1. These were pretty groady

Attached Files:

3. Radio King

Radio King DFO Veteran

Advice taken! Thanks, richm. Soft brush, as in toothbrush?
    And man, what a killer looking set! Drums are nice, too. ;-)

4. JazzDrumGuy

JazzDrumGuy DFO Master

Nice snare - I have a 12/14/18 (real bass!) in blue satin flame........I've toyed with the idea of a matching Slingy wood snare but I already have a red sparkle RK, champagne Artist and a 50's satin mahogany.......another wood one would be overkill........if your buddy is thinking of selling or a trade (I have a ton of cymbals and 25+ snares).....have him contact me.....thanks.

5. Radio King

Radio King DFO Veteran

Will do, JazzDrumGuy. There's a 90% chance he'll want to sell it after he tries it out first. He owns a consignment shop, so for him, everything is for sale.

6. Radio King

Radio King DFO Veteran

Scrubbing Bubbles is the ticket. The wrap looks much better.