Vintage Rogers silver sparkle is glass, right???

Discussion in 'Vintage Venue' started by JazzDrumGuy, Oct 25, 2018.

1. JazzDrumGuy

JazzDrumGuy DFO Master

I am new to Rogers......pics online look like it's glass sparkle (lots of small triangular pieces) and not regular sparkle (small hexagons), right???

I have a 12 & 20 I just scored (both on the way), but I've not seen one in person.

What is the best source for the proper matching wrap? Would it be just silver glass glitter? My drums don't have gingered fading so that's not an issue.

Also, oddly, if my hunch is right (it's glass), I noticed the reissued Dynasonic snares appear to have traditional silver sparkle - is that true? And why so, versus glass?
    Cost? Sparkle is thinner than glass so heads sit better? Other reason?

Finally, did Rogers have silver sparkle (not glass) in their vintage drums? I am talking Cleveland/Dayton/Fullerton era.....thanks so much!

2. rhythmace

rhythmace Rhythmace

Per the Rogers Book, in the early 70s, all sparkles were discontinued except for silver, which became the non-glass type which was aluminum foil bits. Previously when Rogers used glass glitter in their sparkles the early smooth finishes were prone to fading. The later "orange peal" finish sparkles were less prone to fading. Unless you are matching with aluminum, I would go with glass glitter as I did when ordering silver inserts for a Cleveland bass drum. Ace
    (66).JPG

3. Powertone

Powertone DFO Veteran

Assuming you got a Clev or Dayton Beavertail Rogers, they were glass as is early Fullerton. Precision still offers Silver glass which is pretty darn close to the original and should blend well if you have very little darkening or yellowing. The only difference is the original glass finishes had what is referred to as an orange peel texture and the modern version is smooth on the outer surface of the wrap.